New Year, New WP Theme, New Layout…(no) New gremlins?

Following on from my previous post:
My 2014 blogging year, in review…

In other news, I have absolutely no idea why the lay out on this blog has gone screwy, and I’m tearing my hair out trying to straighten it up again.  If any of you lovely people have any suggestions please do share :-/
I first noticed it at the end of last year, and I hoped that doing the ‘ostrich’ thing of going away for a while and then coming back might fix it…but it didn’t 😦

After my plea for help it was pointed out to me by a lovely fellow blogger (you know who you are, and thank you x) that my previous theme was an older theme, and might not be as well supported as I’d hoped, and it was likely that it wasn’t coping with all the recent WordPress updates.

The fact that the layout was so cronky, and that I couldn’t get my page layout and sidebars to behave how they used to behave, is partly to blame for the fact that my recent posting frequency has declined.  There didn’t seem to be much point in constructing a post, uploading pics etc, when the finished article was just going to annoy me, because the entire blog looked terrible.

I’ve spent today playing with countless themes: longlisting the ones I liked, and narrowing them down to a shortlist; laying with the set up on each shortlisted theme, and (finally!) deciding to pick just one to go with.

Please can I ask you lovely people to road test the site for me, using whatever device you normally view my blog with, and report back with any gremlins I might have missed.  I have a few things to add/tweak, but the basic layout is how I want it (for now), and I can’t see any obvious cronkiness, however I’d love you to check the functionality of the site for me please.

English: "Stripe" Gremlin figure, le...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

