Better late than never I hope!

Now that I have (mostly) sorted out my layout/theme woes, and can finally compose new blogs posts with half an idea that they will actually post properly, and my layout won’t go mad on me, I feel I can at last review how 2014 went for me.

I set myself the challenge of walking 500 miles in 2014, and finally hit that number on the 17th November, more than a month ahead of the year-end date that I’d set for myself.  My final miles for the whole of 2014 finished up at 528.6 miles in total.  I’m not quite sure what happened in those final 6 weeks, as my daily miles diminished, with December giving my lowest monthly total of the whole year, at a measly 26.3 miles.  I dare say the Christmas festivities, travelling between Ireland and the UK, visiting with family etc., all played their part in reducing my mileage.  I also had a week on the sofa, after a minor hospital procedure during that time.  All that aside,  I can only hope that reaching my target distance the previous month didn’t result in me relaxing my walking schedule, albeit unconsciously!

Just for fun I stuck ‘526.8 miles’ into Google and have since learnt that just by walking a couple of miles a day, 5/6 days a week, I could walk from Coolangatta to Brisbane in a year.  Obviously it’s highly unlikely to be something I’ll ever do, but knowing that I could made me smile!

An unexpected bonus of all that walking was losing 46 lbs over the year, without really trying.  That has also made me smile, really smile! 🙂

For 2015 I have decided to up the mileage a little more, and have set my goal at 550 miles for the year…or roughly the driving distance between Le Havre and Biarritz if you prefer! 😛

In January I only managed 41.6 miles…not helped by slipping on some ice during a recent hike and twisting my hip.  I tried walking it off for a few days, which didn’t have the desired effect. I then resorted to making myself take a week off from all exercise to give it a chance to heal properly.  Frustrating from an exercise point of view, but I did get lots of knitting done for my craft stall! [How very rock’n’roll!] “Every cloud…” and all that.  My hip is now feeling 99% good but that enforced break now leaves me with 508.4 miles to cover in the remaining 11 months (an average of 46.2 miles/month).  Wish me luck!

To finish of ‘my’ review of how 2014 went for me, I’d like to share some of the fun/strange/bizarre search terms that brought people here…welcome all!  But if some of the following brought you here, then I’m not entirely sure this is where you were hoping to end up…

  • the fat hiker – close but no cigar!
  • curvy pics – those pics are that way ->
  • buy tadpoles in Tipperary – I don’t think that it’s possible to buy tadpoles anywhere, let alone in Tipp?  Happy to be corrected though!
  • curvy blonde life – curvy I may be, but blonde I’m not, sorry.
  • mature curvy fencing – I don’t know, I just don’t know?
  • naughty hiker wife – when she just won’t do as she told!  Bad wife!  Actually, maybe that IS me?
  • going mountaineering in campervan – unless it’s a VW Syncro or a Unimog, I don’t think it’ll get far up the mountain?
  • curvy boy – Alas the husband is a slim jim, so they weren’t looking for him!

The number of search terms finding this blog, looking for curvy / large / xxl / 4xl /  plus size hiking gear is a very sad lament to the fact that the majority of outdoor gear manufacturers have very little to offer us, but that is a whole ‘nother blog post! So I’ll leave you with my favourite search term of 2014:

  • can you drink savlon – I think I’ve mentioned this one before, but it *always* makes me laugh out loud! But, if you’re not sure and you’re here looking for the answer, then no, you can’t drink Savlon!  That’s not what it’s for.
Sugarloaf Hill - Knockmealdowns - Summer 2014

Sugarloaf Hill – Summer 2014 ©The Curvy Hiker

Leave a Reply

